News Trending

OFFICIAL: Final 23-man squad for Black Stars released ahead of AFCON 2019

Written by The Haymaker

The final preparations towards AFCON 2019 by the Black Stars of Ghana are underway in Dubai.

After the initial 29 man squad taken to the United Arab Emirates, the gaffer Akwasi Appiah has released his final squad.

The list includes most of the old faces and a couple of tournament debutants.

Here is the final list:

Goalkeepers: Richard Ofori (Maritzburg United, South Africa, Lawrence Ati- Zigi  (Sochaux, Montbeliard, France), and Felix Annan  (Asante Kotoko, Ghana).

Defenders: Andy Yiadom (Reading, England), Abdul Baba Rahman (Reims, France), Lumor Agbenyenu (Goztepe A.S, Turkey),  Kassim Nuhu, (Hoffeinham, Germany,) John Boye ( Metz France), Jonathan Mensah (Columbus Crew SC, USA), Joseph Aidoo (Genk, Belguim), Joseph Attamah (Basaksehir, Turkey)

Midfielders: Mubarak Wakaso (Deportivo Alaves, Spain), Thomas Partey (Atletico Madrid, Spain), Kwadwo Asamoah (Internazionle, Italy), Afriyie Acquah  (Empoli, Italy), Andre Ayew [c] ( Fenerbache, Turkey),  Christian Atsu (Newcastle United, England), Samuel Owusu (Cukaricki, Serbia), Thomas Agyepong (Hibernian, Scotland)

Attackers: Asamoah Gyan (Kayserispor, Turkey), Jordan Ayew (Crystal Palace, England), Caleb Ekuban  (Trabzonspor, Turkey), Kwabena  Owusu (Leganes, Spain).

Although the Stars suffered a shock 1:0 defeat to Namibia yesterday, Ghana still remains one of tournament favorites.

AFCON 2019 will kick off on 24th June, 2019 in Egypt.

About the author

The Haymaker

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: